Our Committee

ialeUK is led by an enthusiastic committee of volunteers who share responsibilities for achieving our aims by promoting landscape ecology, running our events and outreach activities, and maintaining links with the International Association for Landscape Ecology and IALE-Europe

The committee prides itself on its open and inclusive culture, representation from research and practice, and full participation of landscape ecologists in all career stages.

We host an online Annual Meeting in November where an annual report is presented and the committee for the following year is confirmed. Members are invited to join the committee prior to the annual meeting. We also welcome anyone interested in joining the committee to look at the committee roles and to get in touch.

The current committee is formed of:

Prof. Marc Metzger | President | Professor of Environment and Society at the University of Edinburgh | president@iale.uk

Dr. Jessica Neumann | Secretary | Associate Professor of Physical Geography at University of Readingsecretary@iale.uk

Dr. Vanessa Burton | Treasurer | Conservation Adviser at the Woodland Trust | treasurer@iale.uk

Dr. James Millington | Membership Secretary & Publicity Officer | Reader in Landscape Ecology at King’s College London | membership@iale.uk

Dr. Chris Foster | Newsletter Editor | Lecturer in Animal Ecology at University of Reading

Caitlin Lewis | Early Career Representative |  Environmental Scientist at Forest Research | students@iale.uk

Dr. Chloe Bellamy | ordinary member | Senior Spatial Scientist at Forest Research

Dr. Geoffrey Griffiths | ordinary member | Visiting Professor at University of Reading

Dr. Mike Image | ordinary member | Associate - Natural Capital at AtkinsRealis

Jonathan Porter | ordinary member | Technical Director at Countryscape

Dr. Adrian Southern | ordinary member | Head of Landscape Scale Delivery at the Woodland Trust

Dr. Chris Young | ordinary member | Senior Lecturer Animal Behaviour and Wildlife Conservation at University of Wolverhampton

ialeUK is a limited company that and not-for-profit organisation. The current directors are Vanessa Burton and Jessica Neumann. Legitimate committee expenses to fulfil committee roles are reimbursed following our <<expense policy>> but are not paid for their time and all other income is used to pursue our aims