Nature Improvement Areas (NIAs)

As we go to press the Government has published the list of 12 Nature Improvement Areas (Feb 27th). NIAs are

"large, discrete areas that will deliver a step change in nature conservation, where a local partnership has a shared vision for their natural environment. The partnership will plan and deliver significant improvements for wildlife and people through the sustainable use of natural resources, restoring and creating wildlife habitats, connecting local sites and joining up local action." (Natural England)

The NIAs are part of a programme with funding of £7.5 million established as announced in the Natural Environment White Paper (2011). The 12 funded projects are:

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Dearne Valley
  • Humberhead Levels
  • Marlborough Downs
  • Meres and Mosses of the Marches
  • Morecambe Bay Limestone and Wetlands
  • Nene Valley
  • Northern Devon
  • South Downs Way Ahead
  • The Dark Peak
  • The Greater Thames Marshes
  • Wild Purbeck

For more details visit: